Livable Housing Design

Livable Housing Design Requirements NCC 2022



Livable Housing Design Assessment for NCC 2022 Compliance

Get your Livable Housing Design Assessment completed by Certified Professionals - request a free quote now.




What You Need to Know


What is Livable Housing Design?

Livable Housing Design aims to change the way we design houses by making them more adaptable and easier to use by identifying the changing needs of occupants. Such design includes reducing steps, widening doorways, and future-proofing our homes by providing the framework for additional services to be added if necessary. These principles were initially published by Livable Housing Australia in their Livable Housing Design Guidelines (silver level) and will now be required under the NCC 2022.  



Who are Livable Housing Australia?

Livable Housing Australia (LHA) is a not-for-profit partnership established in 2011 which aims to develop safer homes that are more accessible for every individual. The partnership lies between community and consumer groups, as well as government and industry. Livable Housing Australia provides certification across the three (3) levels of Silver, Gold and Platinum; each with increasingly more accessible design solutions and principles. Certification can only be gained by an accredited assessor, and dwellings must receive an LHA Final-As-Built Certification that is registered with LHA to assure the highest quality of design and construction. 


How is Livable Housing Design Incorporated into the NCC 2022?

Livable Housing Design Requirements can be found in both Volume One (Part G7) and Volume Two

(Part H8) of the NCC. Within these parts there are:


  • Performance-based approach
  • Exemptions where compliance may be unreasonable
  • Deemed-to-Satisfy (DTS) Provisions


These requirements apply to all new Class 1a (houses) and Class 2 (apartment) buildings. The diagram below explains how the various documents of the Standard and the new NCC are interrelated and therefore should be used concurrently.

Livable housing flowchart

What are the Livable Housing Design Requirements?

The Livable Housing Design Requirements is an adaptation of the Silver level of the Livable Housing Design Guidelines within the NCC 2022. These requirements are summarised below*:


Performance Requirements (Volume One - Part G7):

  • At least one level and step-free entrance door from an accessible location on the floor it is located on
  • Internal doors and corridors which allow for unimpeded movement between spaces
  • A sanitary compartment and shower which allows for independent use and access, is located on entry level and is constructed to facilitate future installation of grabrails

Performance Requirements (Volume Two - Part H8):

  • A continuous and step-free path to a dwelling entrance door from either a pedestrian entry, a garage or carport or an exclusive car parking space
  • A minimum of one level and step-free entrance door into the dwelling from one of the required paths above
  • Internal doors and corridors which allow for unimpeded movement between spaces
  • A sanitary compartment and shower which allows for independent use and access, is located on entry level and is constructed to facilitate future installation of grabrails

*the above is a summary of the requirements and should not be used as a substitute for the NCC 2022 Livable Housing Design Requirements.


Why Choose Certified Energy?

At Certified Energy we take pride in helping our clients and their project achieve their full potential. With this service we are able to partner your project with a highly qualified technician who will work closely with you to achieve the best results. 


Contact Us



Free Download

The  National NatHERS Requirements Guide

Everything you need to know about the NatHERS requirements per state.



How long does it take to gain Livable House Assessment Final-As-Built Certification?


The time it takes for us to assess your project is dependent on its size and complexity as this will impact the quantity of items that needed to be assessed. We therefore recommend that you get in touch with us here or over the phone on 1300 443 674 so that we can provide a fee free quote and tailor our service to suit you and your project. 

Image of desk for NatHERS



How much does it cost to gain Livable House Assessment Final-As-Built Certification?

The cost for a Livable Housing Assessment depends on the size and complexity of the project. Click the button below to get your fee free quote.


Quote Now




7 Star Energy Rating- The New Minimum

What you need to know:

- State and territory ministers will meet in July to review the 11-year-old laws

- Climate Council and the Property Council of Australia are now pushing to make a 7-star energy rating the new minimum

- Living in a 7-star energy-efficient, all-electric, home would cut your energy bills by an average of $450 a year

- The move to a 7-star energy rating will reduce emissions by 25% each year, which is the equivalent of one car. 

16% of new housing are already being built to the 7-star energy rating, according to a 2022 report from CSIRO.

Continue Reading



With buildings in Australia accounting for nearly 25% of carbon emissions it is not surprising that buyers are looking to build more sustainable homes.

A 2020 CSIRO study found that more than 9 million homes in the country do not meet the 7 star Nationwide House Energy Rating Scheme (NatHERS) rating that deems a property sustainable. With only 10% of new homes built received a 7-star rating or higher.

Thus, with the target of building more 7-star energy rating homes, banks and lenders are now offering special green home loans to borrowers that are buying or building eco-friendly homes.


A green home loan is a type of loan that encourages borrowers to buy, build or renovate their homes in an environmentally friendly way. These loans offer discounted rates for homes that pass an eco-friendly threshold. In order to qualify for one of these loans, your future house should pass at least one of these qualifications:*

- A 7 star or higher rating under NatHERS.
- Sustainable property upgrades, this includes:
    - Installation of real-time energy monitoring systems.
    - Hot water pump or solar hot water system.
    - Upgrade to LED lights for at least 75% of all light fixtures.
*Specific qualifications will vary from lender to lender

Continue Reading

Free Download

Sample House Energy Rating Certificate

Every certified NatHERS project has a HERS certificate provided for the project. See how each of the elements of the building fabric are detailed and specified in these reports. 


Download Now