What are the requirements of a Section J Report?

Read on to find out about everything involved in the requirements of a Section J Report. 

download now

Our Capability Statement

capability statement

The performance requirements of the Deemed-to-Satisfy (DtS) provisions include but are not limited to meeting the Total R-Values of roofs, walls and floors, the glazing allowances and air movement requirements.

These detailed provisions also include the testing and installation of insulation, thermal breaks, compensation for downlights, floor edge insulation and detailed provisions for building sealing.

These specification need to be provided to your registered assessor for the building’s overall thermal performance to be measured.


The requirements for the main sections in the NCC

Part J0 – Energy Efficiency (J0.1 to J0.3)
Part J1 – Building Fabric (J1.1 to J1.6)
Part J2 – Glazing (J2.1 to J2.5)
Part J3 – Building Sealing (J3.1 to J3.7)
Part J4 – Air Movement (not applicable)
Part J5 – Air-conditioning and Ventilation Systems (J5.1 to J5.4)
Part J6 – Artificial Lighting and Power (J6.1 to J6.6)
Part J7 – Heated Water Supply and Swimming Pool and Spa Pool Plant (J7.1 to J7.4) 
Part J8 – Facilities for Energy Monitoring (J8.1 to J8.3)


The specific requirements of the assessment regarding your new building or renovation will depend on factors such as the Class of the Building, the Climate Zone and the size of the building in terms of the floor area.


Climate Zones of the NCC

As Australia’s climate is varied, this leads to different locations having different heating and cooling requirements. As such, the energy efficiency DtS Provisions vary regarding location. The NCC has classed locations with similar climates into 8 zones:


1.  High humidity during Summer and warm Winters
2. Warm humidity during Summer and mild Winters
3. Hot dry Summers and Warm Winters
4. Hot dry Summers and Cool Winters
5. Warm temperature
6. Mild temperate
7. Cool temperate
8. Alpine regions


The NCC climate zones 1 and 2 have a desire for cooling which is likely during most of the year.

Climate zones 3 and 4 have a higher need for heating than cooling for most of the year.

Climate zone 5 is seen to have a warm climate with a limited need for cooling and heating.

Climate zones 6 and 7 are cool climate areas and need a significant level of heating and insulation to maintain comfortable temperatures.

Climate zone 8 also requires heating due to it being an alpine region.


Return to JV3 and learn even more

Free Download

Certified Energy's Capability Statement

3 min read

Social Sustainability and the Public Realm: Designing for the Community

With the industry reaching new material heights, creating products which are physically beneficial to the environment,...

3 min read

Section J vs. JV3 - When to use Which Compliance Method

What’s the difference between a Section J and JV3?

A JV3 assessment and a Section J assessment are both methods of...

4 min read

Passive Commercial Projects - A trend for a greener future

What is a Passive House?

Passive House is a voluntary standard for energy-efficient building design, construction, and...