What are the requirements of a Section J Report?

The performance requirements of the Deemed-to-Satisfy (DtS) provisions include but are not limited to meeting the Total R-Values of roofs, walls and floors, the glazing allowances and air movement requirements. These detailed provisions also include the testing and installation of insulation, thermal breaks, compensation for downlights, floor edge insulation and detailed provisions for building sealing. These specification need to be provided to your registered assessor for the building’s overall thermal performance to be measured.

These requirements fall into nine main sections in the NCC:

  • Part J0 – Energy Efficiency (J0.1 to J0.3),
  • Part J1 – Building Fabric (J1.1 to J1.6),
  • Part J2 – Glazing (J2.1 to J2.5),
  • Part J3 – Building Sealing (J3.1 to J3.7),
  • Part J4 – Air Movement (not applicable),
  • Part J5 – Air-conditioning and Ventilation Systems (J5.1 to J5.4),
  • Part J6 – Artificial Lighting and Power (J6.1 to J6.6),
  • Part J7 – Heated Water Supply and Swimming Pool and Spa Pool Plant (J7.1 to J7.4) and
  • Part J8 – Facilities for Energy Monitoring (J8.1 to J8.3)

The specific requirements of the assessment regarding your new building or renovation will depend on factors such as the Class of the Building, the Climate Zone and the size of the building in terms of the floor area.

Climate Zones of the NCC

As Australia’s climate is varied, this leads to different locations having different heating and cooling requirements. As such, the energy efficiency DtS Provisions vary regarding location. The NCC has classed locations with similar climates into 8 zones:

  1. High humidity during Summer and warm Winters
  2. Warm humidity during Summer and mild Winters
  3. Hot dry Summers and Warm Winters
  4. Hot dry Summers and Cool Winters
  5. Warm temperature
  6. Mild temperate
  7. Cool temperate
  8. Alpine regions

The NCC climate zones 1 and 2 have a desire for cooling which is likely during most of the year. Climate zones 3 and 4 have a higher need for heating than cooling for most of the year. Climate zone 5 is seen to have a warm climate with a limited need for cooling and heating. Climate zones 6 and 7 are cool climate areas and need a significant level of heating to maintain comfortable temperatures. Zone 8 also requires heating due to it being an alpine region.

Return to Section J Home Page

Related Section J Pages:

How is Section J assessed?
What is Section J?
How is Section J assessed?

Related Section J Articles:

U and R Values and Energy Rating: BASIX, NatHERS and Section J
Section J: Reports and Experience
Section J: Method of Compliance (Deemed to Satisfy)
Energy Efficiency Industry: History